12.4.20

Erika Kramer
2 min readDec 4, 2020

The 33 Project

We’re into December now. December 2020.

Olia Gozha on Unsplash

It’s been an eventful week with lots of ups and downs. It’s too hard to track it, really. But who cares? Here are some recommendations of things that itched my curiosity and intellect or gave me comfort.

1/ I loved this talk with Hanya Yanagihara and artist Jordan Casteel. The discussion of identity and how others ask about identity influencing work. It’s tedious. Casteel expresses going into a subconscious state, where the last thing she’s doing is digesting and interrogating her identity. Snaps. I heard it as almost like shedding any and all layers to get to the piece, to the work, to make something beautiful and worth while. It’s a nice idea to sit with. I also loved their discussion of being an artist. “Not everyone can be an artist, but anyone can be.” It’s hopeful. You have to put in the work. Great chat and worth the 45 minutes or so of watching.

2/ Jeremy O. Harris’s play “Yell” about his time at Yale Drama School has been published on n+1 and it’s quite a read. I love reading plays and I love Jeremy O. Harris SO so So much. It’s a wiiiild play, and feels youthful and angry and manic.

3/ Kiese Laymon strikes again with a beautiful piece for Vanity Fair.

“Like so many of my friends, my past eight months have been spent dodging death

--

--